For the Love of Our Kids


A Merry Heart Ducks

GROWING UP

On my son Luke’s sixth birthday I asked him how he felt. Holding up six outstretched fingers, he replied in all seriousness, “I can’t believe I’ve used up a whole hand already.”

ASKING GOD FOR FORGIVENESS

We had attended a nativity program with our friends and their two sons, ages 4 and 6, and were impressed with the boys’ fascination at seeing the baby Jesus in a manger. The play was, indeed, realistic and convincing.

Later at their home the boys started arguing, and after ignoring repeated warnings to stop, their mother sent them to their rooms to ask forgiveness from Jesus for their disobedience. When the older boy rejoined us, his mother asked him if he had asked Jesus to forgive him. “No,” he replied, “I asked God because Jesus is too young to understand.”

IT WORKS!

During our first snowstorm one year, we had a power outage. Four-year-old Ben ran around the house, trying to turn on all the lights, heaters, and appliances.

After playing a few notes, he triumphantly announced, “Ah ha! The piano still works!”

CROSSING THE STREET

When our daughter Gae started kindergarten we issued numerous warnings about the consequences of crossing the intersection without first stopping to look both ways for cars.

One evening as I was scanning the obituaries in the paper, I remarked that a distant relative had gone to be with the Lord.

Without even pausing in her play, five-year-old Gae said, “I guess he crossed the street, huh, Mom?”

A TALL ORDER

One evening at family devotions, my husband Gordon read from Isaiah 14, the passage in which the king of Babylon (analogous to Lucifer) boasts, “I will be like the Most High.”

That night it was three-year-old daughter Jamie’s turn to pray. “Dear Jesus,” she said, “thank you for letting us read the story about the man who wanted to be the tallest.”

PASSING TIME IN CHURCH

My young son asked what the highest number I had ever counted to was. I didn’t know, but I asked about his highest number. It was 5,372.

“Oh,” I said. “Why did you stop there?”

“Church was over.”

A merry heart does good, like medicine, But a broken spirit dries the bones. — Proverbs 17:22

 

About Roland Ledoux

Pastor of Oasis Bible Ministry, an outreach ministry of intercessory prayer, encouragement and exhortation of the Word of God. I live in Delta, Colorado with my beautiful wife of 40+ years and a young yellow lab whom we affectionately named Bella.
This entry was posted in A Merry Heart and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.