Why I Praise You


WE’VE COME A LONG LONG WAY TOGETHER,
I HAVE TO PRAISE YOU LIKE I SHOULD.
YOU’RE THE ONLY ONE WHO BROUGHT ME OUT,
AND YOU’RE THE ONLY ONE WHO COULD.

whyipraiseyou_wp

THOUGH THE ROAD SEEMED LONG AND ROUGH AT TIMES;
YOU WERE THERE, ALWAYS BY MY SIDE.
AND YOUR FAITHFULNESS DID COMFORT ME,
BECAUSE YOU HEARD MY EVERY CRY.

YOU WERE BY MY SIDE EACH NIGHT AND DAY,
AND YOU LEAD ME EVERY HOUR.
YOU KNEW I HAD LITTLE STRENGTH WITHIN,
BUT YOU GAVE ME YOUR GRACE AND POWER.

WE’VE COME A LONG LONG WAY TOGETHER,
YOU’VE BEEN SO MERCIFUL TO ME.
O’ YES I THANK YOU AND I PRAISE YOU,
IT’S YOU WHO GIVES ME THE VICTORY.

WHEN I STOOD BEFORE THE MOUNTAIN STRONG
WITH SUCH CONFUSION IN MY HEART,
IT WAS BY FAITH AND TRUST IN YOU ALONE
THAT THIS MOUNTAIN WOULD SOON DEPART.

WE’VE COME A LONG LONG WAY TOGETHER
FROM BEGINNING TO THE END.
YOU HAVE PROMISED NEVER TO LEAVE ME,
ONLY ON YOU I CAN DEPEND.

YET AT TIMES IT IS STILL SO HARD FOR ME
TO UNDERSTAND THE REASONS WHY.
I HAD TO PASSTHROUGH LONG DARK VALLEYS,
THINKING THAT I WOULD SURELY DIE.

WE’VE COME A LONG LONG WAY TOGETHER
THIS IS WHY I PRAISE YOU LIKE I SHOULD.
FOR THE VICTORIES THAT YOU GAVE TO ME,
KNOWING IT’S YOU WHO ONLY COULD.

I WANT TO PRAISE YOU AND TO THANK YOU
YOU’VE BROUGHT ME SUCH A LONG LONG WAY.
BUT FOR YOUR GRACE AND LOVE AND MERCY,
I WOULD NOT BE STANDING HERE TODAY.

© 2005 Elizabeth Stewart – Used with permission

About Roland Ledoux

Pastor of Oasis Bible Ministry, an outreach ministry of intercessory prayer, encouragement and exhortation of the Word of God. I live in Delta, Colorado with my beautiful wife of 40+ years and a young yellow lab whom we affectionately named Bella.
This entry was posted in Poetic Praise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.