More From the Mouth of Babes


chidrenschurch

GOING UNDER
A friend of mine took her 4-year-old daughter to a baptismal service at her church. Later that night, her daughter took all of her dolls into the bathtub with her and held her own “baptism.”

As she dunked each doll under the water, she repeated, “Now I baptize you in the name of the Father, the Son and hold your nose.”

MESS MAKER
My husband and I are always talking to our son about all the wonderful things God has made. We ask him questions like “Who made the sun?” and “Who made the rain?”

One evening, I looked at the toys scattered on the floor and asked, “Who made this mess?” After thinking for a few minutes, my son said, “God did!”

JUST CALL HIM REGIS
One Sunday after worship service, I picked up my 4-year-old from Sunday school. When I got to the classroom, his teacher pulled me aside and asked if my son watched the game show, “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?”

I answered, “Yes, he loves the show. Why do you ask?”

His teacher said, “Well, he asked me the name of the giant in the Bible story I was reading. When I answered Goliath, he asked if that was my final answer!”

A TOMATO BY ANY OTHER NAME …
My 6-year-old daughter, Elizabeth, is a huge fan of VeggieTales, but she does not like to eat her vegetables. Realizing Elizabeth wouldn’t be too happy, I went ahead and served salad at a recent dinner.

My husband and I were surprised when she noticed a tomato on her daddy’s plate and said, “Daddy, I want a bite of Bob!”

COOL ART
On our way home from church, our 2-year-old was very excited about the picture she had colored in Sunday school. We told her how much we loved the picture and suggested that she display it on our refrigerator. When we got home, she carried her picture into the kitchen where she opened the refrigerator door and proudly placed her picture on one of the shelves!

“GOD, CAN YOU HEAR ME?”
It was a beautiful day, and my 4-year-old daughter and I were driving with the windows down. As the car picked up speed, it started to get really windy inside, so I rolled the windows up. From the back seat I heard my daughter ask, “What are you doing?”

I told her I was putting the windows up because of the wind. Rather frustrated, my daughter said, “Please put them back down. I’m talking to God, and he can’t hear me if the windows are up!”

“I DON’T THINK I ATE ‘EM”
We were trying to help Lynna, my five-year-old granddaughter, break the habit of sticking everything in her mouth. Our efforts paid off in an unrelated way when Lynna came down with chicken pox.

Staying with Lynna while her parents worked, I was trying to comfort her with a big long hug. “Now where did my little angel pick up the chicken pox?” I asked.

“I don’t know, Momo,” she whimpered, “but I promise, I don’t think I ate ’em.”

WHAT’S IN A NAME?
Hearing a department store clerk address me as “Ma’am,” four-year- old Jennifer asked what that meant.

“Ma’am is short for madam,” I replied. “It’s a polite way to address a woman.”

Jennifer asked what name Daddy would be called.

“Sir,” I answered.

“Sir …” she thought for a moment, “that must be short for servant!”

About Roland Ledoux

Pastor of Oasis Bible Ministry, an outreach ministry of intercessory prayer, encouragement and exhortation of the Word of God. I live in Delta, Colorado with my beautiful wife of 40+ years and a young yellow lab whom we affectionately named Bella.
This entry was posted in A Merry Heart and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.