Sorting Through The File Cabinets Of My Mind


filecabinetI’ve been needing this new category and now is as good a time as any! After all, this IS blogging! Right?!

Well, the last two nights of very little sleep allowed me to ponder on things that have a tendency of building up. You know, scraps of this thing or what someone said or wrote over here. My wife jokingly teases me that I’m a hoarder! Okay, maybe I do have a tendency to save containers for storing things; the trouble is, I’ve run out of things to store and I have all these great air-tight containers!

This actually leads me to what is really on my mind, literally! You see, I am a virtual hoarder in truth. On my computer and my external hard drives I have all sorts of tidbits and nonsense I have picked up over the years. Yep, you read right, over the years. Mostly pictures and clip art bits and such. I also have various quotes, various anecdotes and such. I spend a lot of time, organizing and reorganizing.

When I got my first computer, I actually earned it, I mean I worked for it. I had a friend in Arizona who had a print shop and I spent a lot of time there. He was a missionary and during the holidays I used to watch his shop for him for a couple of months while his wife and him would missionary in the Philippines. I actually learned about desktop publishing and such, so I was able to not just “mind the store” but actually help with business cards, brochures, forms and such. His youngest son ran the actual printing equipment, I just did the layouts and stuff. So, when I got my first computer it was nothing for me to start doing business cards, brochures, even resumes for others. It was a great source of extra income, but that’s when I started developing websites AND collecting clip art, anecdotes, etc., etc.

You know what though? I found out my brain is a virtual hoarding storage space also. I mean as I get older there are some minor memory “quirks” of course, but I still have all this STUFF that I have collected over the years. Don’t get me wrong, every once in a while I pull something out of the nether-sphere and find a way to use it in something I have been meditating on or have been considering for an article and such. But every so often, all that STUFF keeps my mind racing and I have to go into that virtual space between my hearing organs and kind of organize it or just delete it!

In the world we live in today, we have so much coming at us from so many directions that it is easy to gather “clutter” and just leave it lying around. The trouble is, all that clutter can slow down the brain processes just like computer clutter can and does slow down a computer. When these things start to interfere with my “living” processes, then I have to remind myself of what Paul stated and lately I have to remind myself a lot it seems:

Philippians 4:6-8, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.”

You see, sometimes we just have to force that clutter out (aka delete) and make ourselves dwell on the “things that are above and not the things of the world!” – Colossians 3:2.

That also leads me to mention that I have also been “meditating” on the Word of God and the many “layers” and depths that it affords to all; thanks to some fellow “compatriots” in Christ. Maybe I will be able to write it out and post it after Christmas. Also, just a word of encouragement to my fellow bloggers in Christ; don’t force the gift that the Holy Spirit has given you. If you need to take time to exercise your gift by His Leading, take that time, the end result will be so much better than if you try to “force” it. The Lord has His timing when using His vessels and His timing is always “right on!”

I want to close with this; I am extremely blessed and grateful to not just the brothers and sisters in Christ I have met, but the friendships in Christ. To me Proverbs 27:17 says it best, “As iron sharpens iron, So a man sharpens the countenance of his friend.” I gain a lot of inspiration, encouragement and strength from those not afraid of being just whom God created them to be.

May the Joy and Peace that is meant for all, be yours in Christ, this Holy-day Season! Merry Christ-mas!

About Roland Ledoux

Pastor of Oasis Bible Ministry, an outreach ministry of intercessory prayer, encouragement and exhortation of the Word of God. I live in Delta, Colorado with my beautiful wife of 40+ years and a young yellow lab whom we affectionately named Bella.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sorting Through The File Cabinets Of My Mind

  1. Shofar says:

    Aloha from Blue Hawaii, found you on ‘Recommended List’. Needed to find new friends. Blogging started getting somewhat tiresome. Your post spoke some things to my heart and mind. I also did missionary work in P.I. And I am only writing now as the Spirit moves me, using His fresh Words and not from my arsenal of journals, writings and good clutter in cabinets and shelves. God bless you and watch over you in the uncertain future! -Liz

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Citizen Tom says:

    Thanks for the reminder to “Be anxious for nothing” and to trust in our Lord.

    Even in a tranquil times, each of us faces difficult challenges and finally death. So we always always need to be reminded to be reminded to “Be anxious for nothing” and to trust in our Lord. Yet now it seems we have troubling times ahead. So I suspect we will need that reminder even more frequently.

    Thanks again, and Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Wally Fry says:

    Good stuff Brother Roland. If we don’t meet again before Friday. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mel Wild says:

    “Also, just a word of encouragement to my fellow bloggers in Christ; don’t force the gift that the Holy Spirit has given you. If you need to take time to exercise your gift by His Leading, take that time, the end result will be so much better than if you try to “force” it.”

    Amen. Good word, brother. Merry Christmas and blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.