Why I don’t debate any more


body-of-christ

This is an older post from October, 2013 by a dear brother in Christ, Don Merritt. We had discussed a bit about not debating Scripture and he graciously led me to this post. As I commented on his site about the article, his experiences are very similar to mine though as I mentioned to him, I have never debated publicly but I did debate when I felt others were teaching wrong. It’s amazing how much we can mature over time when we let the Holy Spirit teach us and when love for others becomes our focal point when teaching or sharing the Word of God! Please read this article and don’t forget that a lot can be gained from the numerous comments many others share on the article. Definitely visit his site as he has a wonderful sensitivity to the Holy Spirit and an awesome way of sharing the relevancy of the Scriptures!!

The Life Project

Before you read this be warned! This is a story of a doctrinal debate that happened in a denominational setting where I had the side that the denomination in question did not agree with.  You may well disagree with me on the question, and if that is the case, please understand that I have no intention of causing any offense to you whatsoever, nor do I wish to demean any point of view that differs from mine; this is a story about an incident that I very much regret and in many ways I am the villain of the story!

Twenty years ago, I found myself in a conversation with my boss about Baptism. He is the “Big Guy” in my recent post “Attitudes are powerful.” Mr. Big did not believe that baptism is necessary for a person to be saved into Christ.  I believe that it is the means…

View original post 729 more words

About Roland Ledoux

Pastor of Oasis Bible Ministry, an outreach ministry of intercessory prayer, encouragement and exhortation of the Word of God. I live in Delta, Colorado with my beautiful wife of 40+ years and a young yellow lab whom we affectionately named Bella.
This entry was posted in Body of Christ - Reblogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.